Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Relaxing Lesson From My Four Year Old by J.G. McGlothern April 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 1:52 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I have two speeds. On and Off. I so badly want to learn how to operate in neutral, first and second. More than anything I want to learn how to relax. My husband can watch an entire soccer game on T.V. and be in a state of bliss. During that time I can get two loads of laundry done, write a Blog, go grocery shopping and weed the garden all while the children are kept alive. Then I get pissed off and wonder when will I ever get time to relax?
Just yesterday morning my four year old son out of the blue says to me, “Mom, do you know what relax is?” Curious, I urged him to continue. “Relax is when you got to the beach, you sit down and you see the sun.”
Yep, all my efforts at yoga and meditation were just summed up by my four year old. Basically, he took the entire book sitting on my night stand, The Power of Now by Eckart Tolle and gave me the Reader’s Digest version. So right now as you glance away from the computer screen, lean back in your chair and just sit there, what do you see? Can you see the sun?

 

Leave a Reply

