Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April Showers Bring May Flowers by J.G. McGlothern May 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 6:15 pm
Tags: , , ,

On this May Day I offer some flower poetry I wrote not too long ago…

Flowers For Sale $5

It reminds me of Lucy’s psychiatrist stand

In the Charles Schultz comic strip where HELP

Is offered for 5 cents.

Sitting on a country road, speed limit 40

Sits a purple flower stand guarded by trust and a sign

Flowers 4 Sale, $5

Set on the side of a busy country road, speed limit 40.

 

19 Tulips

 

A grey day in November

We plant 20 bulbs

In our neighborhood traffic circle

Her 5-year-old hands dig deep into the earth

“Mama, when will they grow big?”

“In the spring,” I tell her.

 

A white day in January

Neighbors build a 10-foot snowman in the traffic circle

We walk past

Stop and admire

“Mama, will the snowman crush our tulip bulbs?’

“They are safe underground,” I tell her.

 

A bright day in March

We play outside in the sun

Her 5-year-old feet pedal past the traffic circle

I notice the new growth

“Look honey,” I holler.  “What do you see?”

“Are those our tulips?”

“Yes,” I tell her.  “Yes.”

 

We watch them sprout

Bud, pop, stand tall

Red and radiant

Beacons of color

 

For a month we stop

Me, her, and little brother

Count 19

They greet us as we go by

On our way home from the library

Going to church

Coming home from the store, swim lessons or school

We wait for them to open

 

A grey day in April, the Saturday before Easter

She goes on a walk with daddy

When she sees the traffic circle

She runs home to me

“Mama, there are only 4 left.”

 

I dash up the street

Tulip leaves lay on the dirt

A lone tulip bulb lies in the street

Hacked to the ground

15 missing

4 remain

Open, radiant

 

Mortified

I hug her close

 

“Mama, who did this?”

“I don’t know.” I tell her.  “I don’t know.”

 

“Mama. Why did they do this?”

“I don’t know.” I tell her.  “I don’t know.”

 

I let my tears fall

I curse the air

Now it is time to plant a different seed.

 

“Next time we will plant more.” I tell her.

 “We can plant enough for everybody,” she tells me.

“We can plant 100.”

 

Leave a Reply

