Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Holding Hands by J.G. McGlothern May 25, 2009

Filed under: mom writer,motherhood — heartwriter @ 8:11 pm
Tags:

I’ve been warned by friends with sons that I have a 50-50 chance, so to speak, of my son remaining a hand holder.  At the age of 4, rapidly approaching 5, my son is the best hand holder.  Firm grip.  Never gets sweaty palms.  Doesn’t squeeze too tight.  Committing to the hand embrace with gentle love.  A solid, unyielding intertwining of our fingers.   He never drops my hand when other kids approach.  Unashamed to be caught holding hands with his mom.  At this same age, my daughter rarely would walk more than a block holding hands with me before releasing her grip from mine.  My son doesn’t let go for an itch or scratch.  But he will let go for a feather or rock in our path.  After gifting me with his found treasure he finds my hand again. 

Other moms have shared that their sons stopped showing public affection around the 4th grade.  And other moms have shared how their 7th grade sons still show public affection to their mamas.  Just depends on the boy.

Nearly two years ago, just days before my daughter started kindergarten, I wrote the following poem:

Big Girl

Standing in line to buy

Her first lunch box, pink of course

Tears well up

It hits me there at Safeway

Our little girl is starting

Kindergarten

Confident with her new haircut

Proud with her new purchase

We walk out of the store

Hand in hand

Soon she will only walk

By my side reluctant to

Hold hands

So tonight I grip tightly.

 

With another year before my son starts kindergarten, I will take his hand in my left and my daughter’s in my right and give thanks for every little touch, not hoping for more moments like this, but living in the one I am in. Even if it only lasts  ½ a block.

 

One Response to “Holding Hands by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Oh, i loved this one, too.


Leave a Reply

