Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Keeping Me Accountable — Change Part II by J.G. McGlothern September 6, 2009

Filed under: From The Heart,mom writer — heartwriter @ 4:48 pm
Tags: ,

I owe my seven year old daughter fifty cents.  We made a pact this week.  Every time I swear, I give her fifty cents and she puts it in her piggy bank.  If someone is just getting to know me they are shocked to learn I cuss like a sailor.  I don’t know why my otherwise, soft and gentle disposition leads them astray.  Nice girls can cuss with the best of them.  I guess moms aren’t supposed to swear.  I call bullshit. (Damn, that’s fifty cents.  Oops, make it a dollar.)

The part I want to change is cussing in anger, cussing at my kids.  Because when I swear in anger those otherwise meaningless words carry hurt.  If I spill a bowl of soup or trip over the dog and oh shit comes out of my mouth I don’t see that as damaging, but telling my kids to shut the fuck up should definitely be classified as out of line, cruel and to use mommy speak, not acceptable.

This is why I asked my daughter how much I should pay her every time she hears me swear.  She first said, two dollars. To which I replied, oh ship.  Phew, I get to keep fifty cents. 

I hope I am teaching her that I am aware of my mistakes, but I am willing to change my behavior when I see it is hurting others.  My long standing belief that swear-words are empty and meaningless can crash with the rest of the world and most importantly with the world that contains my children.  So I am learning to reign in the truck driver speak and at the same time, my daughter is getting rich.

 

3 Responses to “Keeping Me Accountable — Change Part II by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. Tony Brown Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

    • heartwriter Says:

      Thanks Tony. Just curious, how did you find my blog? I’m new to this world of blogging and figuring out ways to get my name out there more. I appreciate your kind words.

  2. Wendi Says:

    I usually give myself a break, because I have already “been nice” 3 times in my head before I say “gdmit, blah, blah, blah, (whatever she wasn’t doing). But, yes, I too have the cussing in anger guilt. Expecially when I see the look on her face. I just get so frustrated b/c I feel like SHE made me get this angry. Why didn’t she just do it 2 times ago? Do I have to be mean for her to realize I’m serious? What really shocks me is when my husband will step around the corner with that look that I’m over the line! Boy, then do I feel sheepish. I do recognize that it comes out at only certain times (ahem), the hormones are really doing a number on me as I get older!


Leave a Reply

