Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Paranoia Will Destroy Ya by J.G. McGlothern October 7, 2009

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 7:29 pm
Tags: , , ,

After carting kids to school, schlepping them to the dentist and washing the dogs barf off of his dog bed, I sat down with a whole wheat wrap filled with raw spinach.  Ahhh, I was taking care of myself and it was just 11 am.  I flipped open the front page of the Seattle Times, deciding to familiarize myself today with at least the important news of the hour.

Leafy green: a growing health hazard? Right there on the front page.  Do I spit out my Popeye greens? The headline reminded me of a mom’s words this morning at school.  There are 40 cases of H1N1 at our school.  There are three students in our children’s class who have siblings with the virus. I appreciate the update but don’t need the fear. This particular woman was just being kind by updating me, others have delivered the same news with PURE TERROR written all over their faces. 

Yes, I keep hand sanitizer in my car and purse.  Yes, I remind my children to wash their hands if they forget.  They take their vitamins every day, get plenty of sleep and eat a somewhat healthy diet.  I am not living in denial of health care and prevention.

When we live in fear about getting e-coli from spinach or getting the pig flu passed on to us…we are setting ourselves up for trouble.

The fact that others health concerns are more serious and that they simply can’t catch a cold from their child is not off my radar.  I am also fully aware that some of us are more wired with the “worry” gene than others.  We need those people in our lives to balance out our laid back natures. I am only offering another way of living, another way of breathing deeply without fear of getting sick.

After you do all you can, wash, sanitize, practice caution, eat well, sleep well, drink lots of water, keep up to date…then relax.   Visualize wellness not sickness.

I am prepared for some reading this with shaking heads…but I am more prepared for nodding heads of affirmation.  I see them now…even the stranger reading this who has OCD.  He is nodding his head agreeing with my every word then washing his hands.  Twice.

 

3 Responses to “Paranoia Will Destroy Ya by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. jane Says:

    whole wheat wrap and raw spinach? might taste better with some egg whites, tomato and feta cheese. i’m just sayin’….

  2. Sue Says:

    I agree with you on this one – being fearful is no way to live.


Leave a Reply

