Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Game On Again by J.G. McGlothern October 17, 2009

Filed under: From The Heart,writer mom — heartwriter @ 7:08 am

Five weeks ago, I wrote about the healthy challenge seven other moms and myself were taking on. We committed ourselves to giving up bad habits, drinking three liters of water a day, getting a good night of sleep, eating five small meals a day, exercising twenty minutes a day, etc., for one month.

We survived.  We lost pounds, gave up bad habits that we no longer miss, lost cravings for junk food, got more rest than normal.  But most of all we supported each other.  We rooted each other on even when we were on opposing teams.  We checked in daily with each other, so we could bitch and moan about eating one more piece of celery or how we didn’t know how to fit in exercise for that day, because our husbands were out of town. 

We listened.  I guess we were really being present to one another.  Wow, no wonder I am doing it again.

Four of us, are at it again, starting tomorrow.  Only this time, I’m changing my bad habit of swearing in front of my kids to taking vitamins. ‘Cause damnit, that’s how I lost points the last time. I lost points for saying SHIT in front of my kids.  One time. That sucks, huh? So this time, I’m taking another route.  I’m popping pills instead of cussing when the kids are around.

And the new good habit? Five minutes of meditation, DAILY. I get one day off a week, and if I don’t do it the other six days I lose points.  Big points.  I’m taking vitamins and meditating.  One pill, one breath at a time.

I heard it takes twenty one days to make a habit.  That must be why the kids aren’t getting much change from me lately for their piggy banks.  I’m saving up the swearing for my girlfriends and blog readers, instead.  And if you think, that should be my new bad habit to give up, MOTHER… well, I’m just not ready for that.  Give me celery, whole wheat bread, enough water to make me piss like a race horse, but don’t take away my truck driver mouth.

 

3 Responses to “Game On Again by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. Linda Filley Bentler Says:

    Hey Hot Mama teammate,

    You said it best, it really is about listening to each other and supporting each other. Yes, we are playing a game, but is it more about transforming ourselves into a healthier version of ourselves and making being healthy a habit, instead of a wish. We are worth it. You are worth it. And DA** IT! I am worth it too.

    Game On partner!
    Linda

  2. Sukie Curtis Says:

    So tell me about the point system. You keep score on yourself and it’s a competition with your buds? AND you have to pay money too for certain infractions???

    I’ve been hearing and reading the same thing about forming new habits. Wish I had a bunch of friends around to do something similar. Way to go!!

    xo

    • heartwriter Says:

      You gather opponents and team mates, as many or as little as you like. Decide on a prize. 8 women threw $25 into the pot, so in the end there were 2 winners, who each got $100.

      You want to earn the most points. So 5 meals a day that are balanced with protein, carb and good fats, 6 points each meal…total of 30 meal points achievable a day. 10 points for giving up a bad habit, 15 points for gettting 7 plus hours of sleep a night, points for drinking 3 liters of water, talking to your team mate, etc. Does that help? The book is The Game on Diet!


Leave a Reply

