Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Make a Wish — Dreams Part III by J.G. McGlothern October 23, 2009

Filed under: From The Heart,mom writer — heartwriter @ 12:29 am

Let’s not forget about the other kind of dreams.  The when you’re awake, keep you going, having faith kind of dreams.  Those essential dreams in life.  We can’t always decipher our sleeping dreams but our dreams for real life keep us going, give us purpose.

When I was a child I wanted to be an actress.  I practiced the Pearl Drops commercial daily in front of the bathroom mirror, put on shows for my family and was Glenda the Good Witch in our 6th grade production of The Wizard of Oz.

At age 27 I took my first acting class.  Enough said.

I no longer have dreams to be famous nor the desire to work as hard as actors have to work, and let’s not even mention my natural abilities or lack there of…but I still fantasize about being on stage.  So my acting dream is not dead.  I may take another class in the future.  I may try out for something local.  The dream keeps me interested in movies and live theatre, the dream keeps me moving forward and living in the possibility.

Dreams don’t have to be large.  And I have a million of those. Bet you do too. Before I had children I had the dream of sitting around the table most nights with my family and enjoying our meals together.  That dream has become reality.  I worked at it, didn’t give in, created it.  One of my favorite family times is sitting around the dinner table.  We take turns with grace.  Our son entertains us with his words of wisdom, cracks us up.  Our daughter tells about her day, sharing her life away from us while she is at school.  My husband and I share a bit about our days, the appropriate parts, I keep swearing out of the conversation, OF COURSE.  We share, listen, connect…are a family.  I am living that dream and am so grateful.

As a mom, we can forget about our dreams…I have mentioned this before, and this is why I started this blog.  Just because we give, and give, and give…doesn’t mean we can’t reach for our dreams.

So I challenge you, dear reader…what are the little dreams you have given up on since becoming a parent?  Take them out, dust them off, then breathe life into them.  I dare you.  I double dog dare you.

 

2 Responses to “Make a Wish — Dreams Part III by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. Jenny Kanevsky Says:

    Thank you. I accept your dare 🙂

  2. Wendi Says:

    I dream of traveling. Fortunately my child fits into that. I want to go to Europe with her the summer she graduates. I hope she will want to be my travel partner for life! My hubby says “What’s wrong with seeing the U.S.??” Fine, fine, so when do we get to see the Grand Canyon, New York, air balloon festival in New Mexico?!” We’re both bad at travel commitments. Works better if someone plans the whole thing and we go along for the ride. Hope Callie is the type to make all the arrangements! Thanks for posting your blog on FB. Keeps me coming back for more.


Leave a Reply

