Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Trimming The Tree Before The Turkey by J.G. McGlothern November 19, 2009

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 8:07 pm
Tags: ,

My kids wanted me to break out the Elf movie Christmas Soundtrack the other night.  I normally don’t let anything Christmassy break out of the closet until December 1st or at least Advent, which falls on the 29th of November this year, but tonight I caved.  Music is one thing. Music is for any season. Any season and every season.

Remember when The Bon Marche, now Macy’s, lit their Christmas Star the day after turkey day? We had time to anticipate, hope, wait with excitement. Now store fronts are already decked out in the Christmas spirit and we haven’t even gone over the river and through the woods to grandmother’s house for gravy and stuffing.  What are we teaching our children?  What happened to tradition, ritual, the simple order of things?

I don’t recall a lot of Thanksgiving decorations in store fronts as a child, but what happened to celebrating just being thankful?  There isn’t any pressure on Thanksgiving…yes we are with family, which may be stressful, but our main duty is to pig out, enjoy who we are with.  Fight over the turkey skin, take seconds on potatoes.  We remember to count our blessings then eat a turkey sandwich the next day.

Before I get all stuffed and over loaded, I need to remember to be grateful. There is no season for that. Being grateful can happen, winter or spring, summer or fall.  Then full on gratitude, I might not crave seconds on potatoes. (Pumpkin pie yes though…one warm, then one cold, must be done.) When I realize what I have, the abundance, I don’t go looking for seconds.  The first time around is plenty.

On the night we danced to the Nutcracker and Jingle Bells, I was grateful that my kids love music, giddy that they love to dance as much as I do.  So I broke a rule of Christmas stuff before Thanksgiving but I was so aware of the joy it brought all of us on a school night, between book reports and piano practice, to just dance. And dancing can happen winter or spring, summer or fall.

 

2 Responses to “Trimming The Tree Before The Turkey by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. Aunt Connie Says:

    Some rules are meant to be broken, especially when it brings such happiness into your life and your children’s. I’m not so good anymore with hard fast rules! Glad you broke yours……..you had a lovely reward for it!

  2. Wendi Says:

    Callie, being born in December, loves Christmas music. The CD she listens to and falls asleep to EVERY night is Christmas music. We turned on 106.9 practically the day they switched over. Definitely into breaking the rules if it brings joy to our children (and ourselves!)


Leave a Reply

