Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Peace Love Basketball — Part II by J.G. McGlothern November 22, 2009

Filed under: From The Heart,mom writer — heartwriter @ 3:43 pm
Tags: ,

Contest. Enter Drawing by answering a question AND visiting www.peacelovebasketball.com !

In my Peace Love Basketball Heartwriter series, my friend and I are holding a contest. You can win a hip, super comfy, organic cotton T-shirt from her Full Court Design Collection to keep you stylish and a journal to keep you honest.

All you have to do is take a moment and ponder a question and leave your answer in the comment section of my Heartwriter’s Blog AND visit my friend’s web site, www.peacelovebasketball.com, and become a FaceBook fan by clicking on the “fan” button. By leaving your comment on Heartwriter’s Blog and becoming a  PeaceLoveBasketball Fan, your name will be entered into a hat for our December 1st drawing. Answer all 3 questions in my Peace Love Basketball series and your name will be entered 3 times. (If you are not a FB member, no worries, email sonya@sonyaelliott.com, in the subject header write “become a fan” and your name will still be entered in the drawing.)

Love…

I’ve been working on being kind to myself and putting myself first.  Motherhood can strip you naked at the end of the day so there is not a lot left for you to give. So what about remembering to receive?  It’s a balance thing you know, this giving and receiving.  When we give, give, give, what do we end up with?  Bitchyness, resentment, sadness, bitterness, exhaustion and oh, yes an empty cup.

Remembering that we matter and that it is okay to receive can be a learning process.  We need to learn new patterns, often develop new ways of being.

One thing I have been doing the last few months to refill my empty cup is revisiting a child passion. My daughter and I started piano lessons this summer and I am having a ball.  It feels like such a luxury to be plunking on the keys in the middle of the day when there is housework to be done. But screw it I say. And you have heard me say this before, the dishes will still be there, the laundry won’t get up and walk away. 

The act of creating music with my own hands fills me up and makes me a nicer mom. No longer crabby.  Fortunately, my teacher and I have an agreement that I  don’t get to beat myself up if I don’t practice as much as my daughter.  However, by giving myself a piano practice goal of a certain amount of time each week I am being held accountable to be good to myself.

Yesterday morning in yoga (yes, another way I refill my cup) the instructor said something I hung on to all day.  We were in the second part of class, doing the floor series and in between each pose we lie still in the corpse pose. The instructors often tell us it is the most difficult pose.  We are challenged to lie still, keep our mind quiet, our bodies still and our hearts open.

If you can’t be still for yourself, be still for your neighbor, the instructor says yesterday morningAnd I think, What a lovely way to look at it.  So then I leave yoga thinking, If I can’t love myself for me, I can start by loving myself for others.  For my children.  When they see me playing the piano, reading a book, going for a walk, they are witnessing that mom needs care too and she just doesn’t pack lunches, wipe noses and fold laundry.

Your second question for this contest dear reader is this: What loving act do you do for yourself which ends up re-filling your empty cup?

 

 

6 Responses to “Peace Love Basketball — Part II by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. Lisa Says:

    What about remembering to receive? What a great question. For me, running is about loving myself. It’s about taking the time to stay healthy, to have some much-needed alone time, to nourish my heart, my mind, my spirit, and to get back to feeling that child-like sense of joy and freedom. I do it because I am worth it. And that is the question I ask any woman who tells me she doesn’t have the time to exercise (or just follow her passions): Aren’t you worth it?

  2. Diana Says:

    Running…. many times I don’t feel like doing it, because I’m tired, busy, stressed, whatever, but once I push myself out the door or onto that treadmill, I’m so blissed out. A bit of peace and quiet in my otherwise hectic day, exercise not only gives me that little endorphin rush, it’s good for me physically AND mentally. I’m a MUCH better, nicer and happier person after.

  3. Marcia Metcalf Says:

    What re-fills my cup — running. It is just me, my thoughts, and being outside enjoying life all around. Running is where I escape and just enjoy my time to myself. When I am done I always feel like I can do anything that life has to offer and I am ready for anything. No mountain is to high to climb after a run. Just love it!!!

  4. Heidi Taft Says:

    Defiinitely exercise, but I’m a creative person and doing something creative fills up my cup the most. Whether it’s actually making something (a card or gift or meal or editing a photograph) or sometimes getting a coffee and perusing my favorite stores (like Anthropologie) to get inspired by beauty and creativity. I’ve learned the art of browsing and buying nothing — just getting inspired.

  5. Anne Says:

    I have started writing poetry as a way to pay attention to my right-brain creative self. I started when I lost my job, and have found that instead of feeling depressed, I feel peaceful and hopeful, and anticipating something will change within myself by letting my unconscious come out through this creative expression. My dreams have been very lively, too. My family notices the positive effects. I have awakened laughing a couple of mornings. What a gift!

  6. Carolyn Says:

    interesting post. I would love to follow you on twitter. By the way, did you guys learn that some Iranian hacker had busted twitter yesterday.


Leave a Reply

