Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Best Mom by J.G. McGlothern December 17, 2009

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 8:50 pm
Tags: ,

I was curious about a ritual my friend started with her children.  Inspired, I just had to try it with my own kids.

Last week I gave each of my children an empty notebook.  I wrote their “name and mom” on the inside flap and instructed them to decorate as they wish.  My daughter got out stickers and fastened them on the cover, drawing a big smiley face in the center.  My son made a pattern on his cover with basketball and penguin stickers.  They asked if they could skip story time so they could write and draw in their journals.

My only instructions were that this journal is for communication between me and them.  They can keep it as long as they like then when they are finished they can put the journal on my pillow, indicating my turn.

After tucking them in – I read what they had written to me.  My daughter started off her letter with the words…Best Mom.  She went on in her letter asking me about my dreams in life, wishing me luck, encouraging me.  Reading the letter, I forgot she was 8. 

With a big fat black pen my son drew pictures of dogs and wrote names of everyone in our family, surrounded by hearts.

Delighted they were as excited as I was, I wrote back to them.  Drawing, sharing, loving them back with my whole heart, pen in hand.  Later, I placed their journals at the foot of their beds, giddy about them finding them in the morning.

The week has continued with finding the journals on my pillow.  One child returning theirs every day, the other, taking her time with her words.

 

4 Responses to “Best Mom by J.G. McGlothern”

  1. Sue Says:

    How beautiful! What a gift you are sharing. In the world that keeps us so busy and hearing myself sayiing “hurry, we can’t be late!” How nice to have a quiet space to speak to eachother with your heart – no harsh words and fully listening to their voices. Once again Jenny you are such an inspiration!
    Merry Christmas!

  2. Julia Siemens Says:

    What a cool idea! I want to do the same thing with my kids one day.

  3. Jenny Kanevsky Says:

    J McG Pea, you amaze me.


Leave a Reply

