Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Piggy Is Getting Fat by J.G. McGlothern January 16, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart,mom writer — heartwriter @ 5:04 am
Tags: , ,

50 more cents into each kids’ piggy bank. I said, God Damnit, not just in front of my son but to him tonight. I knew what I was doing. It’s not like an alien overtook my body and did things out of my control. It was fully in my control and I take full responsibility.

Many of you know about my truck driver factor and for those of you who don’t, you may be surprised. Yep, I swear like a trucker. I really, really, really try not to swear in front of my 8 year old and 5 year old but sometimes an alien overtakes my body and I am completely unaware of the words falling from my lips.

Tonight different story. My son lost it at bed time. So I, for the briefest of moments, lost it too…God Damnit knock it off, I said to my son.  I got the evil eye from my hubby and my daughter knew not to pipe up with her standard, You owe us 50 cents. What she always says when I let one slip.

In the morning I will apologize for swearing and hand over 4 shinny quarters.

Now I will take care of me by making a cup of tea and reading my book.  I will write about my humanness in my son’s journal and ask him for forgiveness.  I will crawl under the covers without beating myself up but with a vow to try again tomorrow. To start fresh.

If our children’s college funds crash and burn there will always be their piggy banks.  I wonder if anyone has ever paid for college with quarters.  There is a first for everything.  And damnit if they don’t accept our quarters we’ll try a new college.

 

Leave a Reply

