Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Show Up — Practice Part II February 2, 2010

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 6:53 am
Tags: ,

When I heard Anne Lamott speak last spring I took the opportunity to ask her a question during her question and answer period.

How does a stay-at-home mom of young ones write and work toward being published? I asked.

Thirty minutes a day, she told me. You show up in front of a blank page every day for thirty minutes and most of it will suck. But you show up again.

So here I am showing up.  I intended on going to bed early.  I am reading two really good books, Travelling with Pomegranates by Sue Monk Kidd and Ann Kidd Tyler and The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff.

I am in the beginning of both books and they have my attention so I want to read on.  But I also have committed my life to being a writer, so here I am showing up to practice.

Sometimes I don’t want to practice.  I want to forget about my dreams and live someone else’s.  Practice isn’t supposed to be easy I suppose.  But it does get easier the more I do it.

Like tonight at bedtime.  Yelling is getting easier. I want to give it up completely, but I keep doing it. That isn’t the practice I want to be doing.  I want to practice keeping my cool not yelling.  Maybe I should write that on the kids’ chalkboard 100 times.

I will not yell at my children when they don’t listen to me. I will not yell at my children when they don’t listen to me. I will not yell at my children when they don’t listen to me. I will not yell at my children when they don’t listen to me. I will not yell at my children when they don’t listen to me. I will not yell at my children when they don’t listen to me.

Along with showing up to practice I must remember to be kind to myself.  I just bet the kinder I am to myself the kinder I will be to my children.

The mother/daughter writing duo of Kidd and Kidd had to practice their new way of connecting (I can see where it is going and I am only on chapter 1) and I am sure David Ebershoff doesn’t have 19 wives, so he had to practice his craft of writing.  One page at a time.

I have put in my time on this blank page.  I will now go finish my “list” of 40 things I am grateful for in my journal.  Another practice I am working on…learning to be more grateful.  Then I will read a few pages of one of my books…practicing reading more.  Then I will practice dreaming in my sleep, so that I can wake up and write down any messages…practicing paying attention to my dreams. 

Oh, so much to practice and so much time to practice practicing.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

One Response to “Show Up — Practice Part II”

  1. Bart Perman Says:

    Brenda told me about your blog last night. Very nice. I’m looking forward to future entries…..

    bp


Leave a Reply

