Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Perspective – March Madness Part III April 2, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 4:35 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So here I have been feeling completely overwhelmed with my life, with one child home from spring break, a husband going away for Final Four, not able to write like I want with this and that happening, blah-blah-blah…and my friend Diane sends me an email with “March Madness” in the subject header yesterday.  Only it’s not about basketball.  Much like Melissa’s story (www.peacelovebasketball.com) Diane’s madness is about illness and the daily experience of it.

Madness has many meanings for me but this is the first time I’ve thought about it with the intensity, delicacy, permanency of illness.  Melissa and Diane are fighting for their lives.  Something I take for granted.  I am swallowed up in the craziness of motherhood; we are all swallowed up by some sort of madness. Be it divorce, depression, drug addiction, a sick parent, loss, loneliness, financial stress, we all got something on our plate.

Personally I have not battled a life threatening disease like Melissa is fighting ALS and Diane is fighting cancer, so I’m not aware or in touch with that firsthand experience.  Of course I’ve lost friends and my father to illness and currently I’ve watched my step-dad go from climbing ladders one moment to being confined to a wheel chair the next.  Messiness, all part of life, right?

When I read my friend Diane’s “March Madness” email I was struck by her strength, beauty and amazing grace. Her realness expressed with so much love.  For her own benefit she calendared the events of her March.  Every day practically had the words: radiation, bone marrow tests, treatment, biopsy, or tumor, all words filling out her daily battle.  But along with her list of calendar events Diane includes poetry, humor, and an incredible benevolence. 

And there lies the beauty of her madness.  It hasn’t captured her soul.  Her soul is alive with forbearance kicking with intense rapture.

In order to not succumb to the madness in our lives and let it over take us, we need to find our place of peace.  A place where we can rest our heads, holding on to nugget of hope, so that the quiet calm voice within can be heard.  Can be louder than the madness itself.

No matter what your battle, illness, caretaking, just life itself…How do you not let the madness over take you? How do you find that place to rest your head and listen to the wisdom within?

YOU HAVE UNTIL APRIL 6th TO ENTER THE MARCH MADNESS DRAWING. WE WILL DRAW A NAME FROM THOSE WHO HAVE ENTERED AN ANSWER TO ONE OF THE MARCH MADNESS SERIES QUESTIONS AND BECOME A FAN OF WWW.PEACELOVEBASKETBALL.  DRAWING APRIL 6th, NOON PACIFIC COAST TIME. 

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING MO VS. ALS!

 

Leave a Reply

