Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Movement April 14, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 5:41 pm
Tags: , ,

One day in yoga class last week as I relaxed on my back during the floor series I noticed I was laying down under a sky light.  I entered class when the sky was dark and now I could see the sun was out but the sky was  full of clouds.

I recentley have had to end a professional relationship.  Over a month ago boundaries were crossed and I was no longer comfortable dealing with this person.  It’s been a long time since I have intentionally ended a relationship.  My pattern is more to keep relationships going even if they are unhealthy, all in order to keep the peace, not ruffle feathers.  I have demonstrated a more passive response in the past instead of standing up for myself.

Not this time.  Without drawing on all the specifics, pointing out this and that fault, I told the person, it was time to move on, we would no longer be using their services.  If I brought up the specifics this individual would then point out my faults, and back and forth it would go.  Tit for tat, just like in a family spat, treading water not moving ahead.  Time to step away.

In yoga class, the sky light view has shifted revealing a string of clouds moving across a blue sky.

I learned so much about myself during this uncomfortable and hurtful experience.  Instead of sitting on my hands in fear of this person exploding at me again I have chosen to be proactive and cut my losses.  I am trying not to make judgements of this person, but of course it is too easy not to.  So I acknowledge my areas of weakness, see where I can grow, and move forward in a positive direction.

Back at my view of the sky light the other morning, at the end of class, the previous string of clouds disappeared revealing a solid blue sky.  Bright, full of possibility.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Movement”

  1. Sukie Curtis Says:

    Nice post, Jenny. And kudos for ending a relationship that no longer felt healthy. I have a history of enduring rather than ending such things myself! Well past their “sell by date”.


Leave a Reply

