Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Leave Room September 14, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 5:18 am
Tags: ,

Today at school drop off another parent commented to me, Oh, you have an empty nest now with your youngest in kindergarten.  How does that feel?

To tell the truth I don’t know yet because I haven’t created the space to swim in this new phase, be in it, feel it.  School just started last week and I highly anticipate that I will feel the spaciousness of the quiet nest more this week.  Last week with only three days of school I filled those six hour days with doing, volunteering in the class room, meeting friends, attending a yoga class, walking the dog, wading through email, assisting in coaching.  It was all movement with no space for stillness.  No room for emptiness.  For I know it is in the quiet moment, the space of time to breathe, the juncture to be, that I will feel what it really feels like to have my baby in school  — to not have a child at home with me.

We often fill up space so that we don’t have to feel or because frankly those feelings can be scary.  Right now I’m feeling like there is too much to do that I haven’t had the time to create that stillness.  To stand in the empty spot.  I am craving a handful of moments to be with the feelings of having an empty nest.  Or am I?  If I am craving it so badly why am I letting the space of time fill up, instead of leaving room?

What would my feelings look like if I made some room for them to surface?  Would I be scared of this time by myself?  Would I feel guilty for this new freedom?  Lonely? Or would I feel completely thrilled and elated and then not know where to go from there?

It is waiting for me.  I will leave room for the stillness and step into the empty spot to find out what is awaiting my discovery.

By J.G. McGlothern

 

7 Responses to “Leave Room”

  1. Sue Says:

    Jenny-

    I understand where you are with this new time to have to explore for yourself. I don’t believe you are afraid of what the time will offer you – or what you will find in yourself! Just like in the book “The Cup of Life”, you need to empty yourself (or the bookcase; closet; drawers; e-mail inbox, etc) before you can refill yourself. Enjoy the time to slow down…..the world we live in does not always support the slowness of life – treasure your journey.

  2. Sukie Curtis Says:

    I do believe you will settle into it in time. Such a time of possibilities!

  3. I understand where you are with this new time to have to explore for yourself. I don’t believe you are afraid of what the time will offer you – or what you will find in yourself! Just like in the book “The Cup of Life”, you need to empty yourself (or the bookcase; closet; drawers; e-mail inbox, etc) before you can refill yourself. Enjoy the time to slow down…..the world we live in does not always support the slowness of life – treasure your journey.
    +1

  4. Eloisa Says:

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it
    up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Cheers


Leave a Reply

