Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

On Gratitude September 24, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 2:43 pm
Tags:

They have a national day, an awareness week and an honorary month for just about everything these days. I learn about new ones all the time and am surprised by their occurrence.  I do think these special days are a good thing, another way of waking us up to the important things in life we forget to recognize.  We can get so caught up in the busyness of our own lives that the simple little things get pushed aside.

This week I was asked to be on a radio show to talk about starting my retreat business and learned that it was National Gratitude Week.  In the second half of the show author, Todd Jensen, joined our panel and shared about his new book out this week, On Gratitude.  Todd interviewed fifty celebrities about what they are grateful for in their lives.

Participating in the conversation and hearing what the other guests had to say about gratitude set me in motion this week to a place I have never fully ventured.  Yes, I write about ten things I am grateful for in my journal, maybe four – five times a week. Yes, I stop in my tracks and think of something I am grateful for when I start to spiral down into a bad mood.  This week however, I had the words thank you and thoughts of gratitude at the front of my brain, in the center of my heart, on a continual basis and I witnessed good things happen.  There was a shift in my attitude that remained central to by being.

I let stuff slide that would normally irritate and aggravate.  I journeyed to a new place that left me balanced, centered, aware instead of tired, unfocused and stressed.

It’s about doing it over and over, letting go of getting it perfect, and trusting in where you are, in the moment. What an incredible feeling to have the steps I have been trying to take on being grateful bring me to a new place, a place of breathing in gratitude and letting it penetrate my existence.

What steps do you take in your life to breathe in gratefulness?  I’d love to hear about them. Do tell?

by J.G. McGlothern

For more on gratitude, check out my Gratitude series written here on this blog in April 2010. Visit my April archives: 4/6, 4/9, 4/11.  Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

