Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Waiting October 18, 2010

There has been a writing project bouncing around in my brain for a couple of years now and I have been waiting for the right time to start it.  Believing other things needed to be in place first, waiting for that perfect time to begin, I have been holding back, delaying my dreams.

This past Saturday as my girlfriends slept in, I chose to seize the opportunity and begin this project. We drove four hours out of the city, leaving children, husbands, dogs and guilt all at home.  We drove away from responsibilities to others, traffic, distractions and those things we let get in the way of finding our own quiet spot within and listening deeply.

K says her cabin’s front yard often attracts a family of deer.  So as I sat and wrote, eating my banana in the quiet, I also waited for the visitors.

At home I often wait for things to be just so, all in order before I do what feeds me, nurtures my soul and gives my life greater purpose.

There is good waiting, like the anticipation of a kiss or Christmas morning, but then there’s destructive, useless waiting. The kind where you put your dreams on hold for the sake of others, laziness, fear, and just plain stubbornness.

As the sunlight filled the cabin, bringing the day to a brighter place, I filled my notebook with my dream, seeing where the pen would take me.  I still looked out the window for the deer, but my purpose was not about waiting for their appearance it was about being in the moment without expectation, void of fear and charging ahead. 

What are you waiting for as you miss what is right there in front of you, ready for the plucking?

I could get all morbid on you and risk bad writing all for the purpose of tying in the deer theme by telling you the only other deer we saw this past weekend were dead ones on the roofs of cars, hunting season has begun.  All for the purpose of warning you about what can happen to our dreams when we wait for them to happen.  Or I could tell you about the three live deer we saw later in the day on a drive to town, far off in a field, only I couldn’t see them very well because I didn’t have my glasses on, all to represent that when we least expect it, what we are waiting for can appear.

Instead I will leave you with this, is there ever a perfect time to begin living out your dreams?  Is everything ever perfectly in place?  Don’t wait until the kids are grown and out of the house, show them right now, you not only encourage them to live out their dreams, you have some of your own.  And they are damn good ones.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Waiting”

  1. Amy Says:

    For me, it was photography. I really enjoy it, but seems like I never have time for anything other than (barely) managing 3 kids, jobs, and just everyday living.

    Then I signed up for a photography class 3 years ago (geez – has it been that long?!) – it was amazing. It felt great to be back in a classroom, and it felt great to put ME first and actually spent time doing what I enjoy. After that I started my little photography side business. It’s not like I could quit my day job, but I love the fact that my work was appreciated and people would actually pay for it.

    That lasted for a while, then I started a new job, commuting, soccer, baseball, Taekwondo, birthday parties… I am back in the survival mode again and have not had time for any of my projects.

    Reading your blogs make me think. I agree with you, and I want to do more… execution is challenging but somehow have to make it work.

    One of these days I’ll go back and read all your older entries. I have a feeling I’ll like them.

    • heartwriter Says:

      Amy…photography, another passion of mine as well, my excuse now is wanting a better camera. I love that you took a class and started a side biz with your dream. Can’t wait to hear when you put YOU first again, yes a huge challenge, but baby steps, right? Thank you for reading, I appreciate it so! Carry on with your dreams, start clickin’ and shootin’ toward your dream again.


Leave a Reply

