Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Third Time Around October 20, 2010

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 7:24 pm
Tags: , ,

Reading Harry Potter to my children the other day I came across the most wonderful phrase. Heart hammering.  Harry was super excited, emotions buzzing on his way to Hogwarts for the first time.

This is the third time I have tried to read this ever popular book. This time it’s sticking.  This time I have made it on the train and my kids are with me for the ride.  I know it’s not my very bad British accent I am using this time round either, they rather wish I would stop trying to come up with voices for the characters, but I’m sorry, someone with the name Hermione or Hagrid deserves an accent.  My accents may not be British Brilliant, but our hearts are hammering as we read on and the adventure unfolds.

I don’t know why I didn’t care for the book the other times I tried to read it.  I don’t know why this time I care about what happens to Harry.  I am not one to keep on reading a book if it’s not grabbing my attention and hammering my heart. I am also not one to jump on the bandwagon and stay there just because everyone else is on board.  It has to feel right.  And the whole Harry Potter thing bored me until now. It’s all about timing I suppose.  Where my head is when I read something, where my heart is when I am reading another’s words.

What other things in my life deserve another chance? Hmmm, I’ll have to ponder that one.  What other things are my heart ready for now?

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Third Time Around”

  1. Sukie Curtis Says:

    There’s some great stuff ahead for you to enjoy…ride on! (meaning, read on). Maybe reading it with your kids will add enjoyable new dimensions. And though it’s hardly a replacement for a parent’s reading aloud, the audio version with narrator Jim Dale is very well done. He’s got a native Brit accent, and as the series goes along his various ways of representing different characters has grown. Great for long car rides.

    • heartwriter Says:

      Good to know, thanks Sukie. Maybe as I read on my various ways of representing different characters will grow too. Oh…the joys of a good book.


Leave a Reply

