Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Trick or Treat October 31, 2010

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 4:14 am
Tags: ,


I eat up Halloween. The colors. The time of year.  All that comes with it brings me childlike joy.  I get to dress up and be someone or something else for a few hours.  Carmel apple gets in my teeth and it’s a holiday that doesn’t come with a forced family gathering or guilt.

 

My eight year old loves the candy but isn’t big on the dressing up and changes her mind on a costume like the weather shifts in Seattle.  Minute by minute.  My six year old is completely and totally FREAKED OUT by the holiday.  Sometimes I wonder how they came out of my womb.

 

So instead of being disappointed by their lack of equal enthusiasm I will once again learn from my children.  Not everyone likes to bring attention to themselves with big hair and crazy makeup and that just shows my daughter has so much confidence in who she is as herself not someone in a wig or hiding behind a mask.  From my sweet, big hearted son I am learning that scary doesn’t make everyone laugh and nightmares are part of his reality right now.

 

I will get out the Aqua Net to make my hair big and crazy, then enjoy the candy stuck in my teeth and not judge or be annoyed if my children don’t get as thrilled as I do when the first trick or treater rings the bell.

 

by J.G. McGlothern

 

 

2 Responses to “Trick or Treat”

  1. Sue Says:

    Go out into the night with your big hair – it will never be as big as your heart …. you are an amazing treat! Happy Halloween!

    I am not a fan of this holiday – too much for me but the kids love it…
    Luke is a viking (plundering for treats)
    Clare is “Super Clare” complete with a sparkly orange cape

    Keep on writing – you have a gift that I am grateful that you share.


Leave a Reply

