Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Patience Ain’t My Virtue November 1, 2010

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 6:40 pm
Tags: ,

The other day my son wanted something and he wanted it NOW. I took a deep breath and started in about how patience is something that will get you a lot further in life than impatience will ever get you. My husband walked into the room and cleared his throat.  I didn’t have to look up to know what he was wearing…A BIG FAT SMILE.  The kind of smile that says, Really honey, tell us all about patience now won’t you. I shot him a look that said, Don’t mess with me brother, I don’t need to be told about patience right now.

Then ten minutes ago my sweet daughter, who is home sick today put me in my place.  It is dumping buckets outside and our dog who has a bladder made of kryptonite was taking his time peeing.  I was outside with my umbrella following him around saying, Go potty, Buford. Go potty. Go potty NOW. Teeth gritting, grip on umbrella turning my knuckles purple.  Let’s go dude, you haven’t gone potty today, you for sure have to go.

Inside my daughter says, Mama, can I say something and please don’t take this the wrong way, but when I take Buford out to go potty you tell me to be patient, to say it once and wait while he sniffs around.  You were practically yelling at him.

Touché.  Called to the carpet right there at the front door. I didn’t take it the wrong way.  I smiled at her, thanked her and loved her for showing me in a beautiful way that her mama needs some of her own work in the patience department.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

 

6 Responses to “Patience Ain’t My Virtue”

  1. Bravo to you for being able to take her comment the right way. As parents, sometimes it is hard to get constructive feedback from others, much less our children.

  2. Sukie Curtis Says:

    I love your family! And you.

  3. Sue Says:

    You say it so beautifully! I must of gotten out of line when patience was being handed out. Funny, I shake my head at how fast time is going but when I HAVE TO WAIT for my children or spouse, somhow time goes too slow and I NEED to hurry it along by nagging. Thank “M” for the reminder to breathe and let others take their time to do what is needed at the moment.
    Love you!


Leave a Reply

