Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s in the Dessert November 8, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 7:03 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I am not a food blogger. I don’t even play one on TV. But I love food and I have a recipe that must be shared. This blog is about matters of the heart you say?  Well, honey if good food isn’t a matter of the heart, I don’t know what is.

My daughter is not a cake girl. Like her mother she is all about pie.  And also like her mother she breaks rules…..we both love cheesecake.  So when we tried my friend’s brother-in-law’s chocolate pumpkin cheesecake at a Harvest Party last weekend, I knew what I would be making for my daughter’s birthday.  She just looked at me and said, “Oh, yeah mom, definitely for my birthday.”

I consider myself more of a cook than a baker, but lately I’ve been trying my hand in the baking department.  I don’t like following recipes, so it is against my nature to be a baker, but there have been some recipes lately, that have just been calling my name, beckoning me with their scrumptious ingredients.

So this weekend, for my daughter’s ninth birthday, I did that, I gave her a little bit of my heart with chocolate cake and homemade butter cream frosting for her slumber party, Marble Pumpkin Cheesecake for Saturday’s family party  and today to bring into her class room, her cookie request, Oatmeal Chocolate Chip.

There have been times in my kitchen when I have thought of my deceased grandmother as I roll out my pie crust or thought of my dad who has been gone for eight years, when anything sweet comes out of the oven.  You can bake with your soul and pour love into the bowl along with the melted chocolate. 

Speaking of chocolate, in the movie, Like Water for Chocolate one of the sisters was so moved by love after eating a meal made from the heart, she gallops away on a horse, naked, a new meaning for bareback.  Now no one did that after this weekend’s dessert but I will say there is no more pumpkin chocolate cheesecake in the fridge, all evidence gone.  And we are still smiling.

If you love pumpkin pie, cheesecake and chocolate give this recipe a try, you’ll be left with extra love in your heart after you have licked your plate.

By J.G. McGlothern

Chocolate, cream cheese, pumpkin...what else can I say?

 

Marble Pumpkin Cheesecake

Crust ingredients

1 and ¼ cup chocolate graham crackers (1 packets)

2 T sugar

¼ cup butter melted

1 cup chocolate chips (semisweet)

Cake ingredients:

1 cup choc chips (semisweet)

24 oz. cream cheese room temp

1 cup sugar

¼ cup brown sugar

16 oz. canned pumpkin

4 eggs

1/3 cup evaporated milk

¼ c corn starch

¼ t cinnamon

1/8 t nutmeg

½ teaspoon ginger

Butter a 10 in. spring form pan.  In a medium bowl combine graham cracker crumbs, sugar and butter.  Mix well and press into the bottom of the pan.  Top with one cup of chocolate chips.

Preheat oven to 325.  Melt one cup of chips over heat.  Stir constantly until smooth.  Set aside.  Cuisinart the cream cheese until soft (room temp).  Gradually add one cup sugar and ¼ cup brown sugar until smooth.  Beat in pumpkin.  Scrape down sides.  Add eggs one at a time.  Add evaporated milk.  Sift in corn starch , cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.  Be sure everything is mixed well.  Add one cup of pumpkin mixture and put it in the chocolate.  Put the remaining pumpkin mixture in to the crust.  Take the chocolate and put it in spoonfuls on top of the cake.  Dot the cake all around.  Take a sharp knife and swirl in two directions.  Put in oven on a baking sheet Bake for 60 minutes.  Turn off the heat and let remain in oven for 30 minutes.  Remove, cool to room temp and cover and refrigerate. 

  • Use a knife around cake to make sure it properly separates from pan. 
  • When serving, use sharp knife dipped in hot water between cutting cake.
  • If you can make it the night before or at least refrigerate for HOURS, it will taste better!
 

2 Responses to “It’s in the Dessert”

  1. Sue Says:

    Jenny –

    On this rainy day, thank you for reminding us that preparing food is one of the most basic ways to share our love and to connect with those who have touched our hearts.


Leave a Reply

