mom writer

Monday’s Random Thoughts

Soup for breakfast.  A hummingbird in November on a day that’s snowing in Seattle.  Could this day be any more unplanned?

This morning while sitting in a neighborhood cafe “living time”, definitely not “killing” it, I ordered a bowl of soup and it wasn’t even 9:30.  The moment I walked in the door, the smells grabbed me and wrapped me up in their fresh aroma of tomatoes, onions, garlic, oregano – I had to ask what was cookin’. In minutes I was devouring a bowl of soup topped with feta.

The unexpected often better than the planned.  A surprise to your senses, an awakening of your soul when one steps out of normal routine and takes the road less traveled.  And speaking of Robert Frost and choosing the road “less traveled by”, I have found that soup for breakfast is just one way of taking yourself off guard.  And I believe taking yourself off guard is a gift to your soul.  Today’s snow flakes took me off guard indeed and took me to a place of quiet gratitude, a place to delight in the little gifts of the day.

Snapping my son’s photo as he romped in the snow moments ago, a hummingbird visited my hydrangea near our front porch.  Calling the kids over, we all got a glimpse of the unexpected beauty, flitting around, looking for food, searching for a plant perhaps one less traveled by and untouched by his magnificence.

by J.G. McGlothern