Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought November 29, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart,mom writer — heartwriter @ 6:20 pm
Tags: , ,

What if we took the word should out of the holiday season? What would your holiday look like? Would Hanukkah have eight days of presents?  Would Christmas have as many gifts under the tree?  I’m not trying to be the Grinch, I love gifts. I am simply asking myself to look at the unnecessary stress I create in preparing for Christmas.

What parts of the season do you cherish?  Think about the traditions and elements of the season that warm your heart not make it pump faster and hold your breath.

Last night my son, cradled my face in his hands and said, Mama do you believe in Santa? If you do, you should write him a letter and hang a stocking this year. That warmed my heart.  Then I started to get all stressed out because my kids wrote their letters to Santa asking for expensive gifts I know they won’t use, they had to think of something to write so they wrote down the first thing that came to their head.  My husband and I are going to be radical and not get them the exact things they asked for, instead other items they need and want, just didn’t tell Santa.

I freeze up with this whole Santa thing, wanting to get it right.  I was told at age 4 by an older sister, that Santa didn’t exist, but my two children have shown me otherwise.  Santa is one symbol of the Christmas Spirit. And if I believe that then I don’t have to get the expensive gift that will sit in the closet, I can trust in the True Spirit and teach them Christmas isn’t about the big present in the stocking.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

