Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Halo or Hat? Angels Part I December 1, 2010

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 12:18 am
Tags:

Over a decade ago I was driving home from a meeting on a dark, wet winter night.  After exiting the freeway and getting onto the bridge that would take me home, I felt my car shake and I heard that familiar sound of tire rim scraping pavement. It was after nine at night, raining hard and the bridge doesn’t  have a shoulder, so being the reactive woman I can be, I called out, “Send me an angel Lord, send me an angel,” as I pulled the car over to safety.  I barely got the car fully stopped when I noticed flashing lights in my rearview mirror. Two young policemen came to my window checking to see if I was okay.  Within fifteen minutes one of them changed my tire and I was back on the road, just a couple of miles from home.

Divinely guided or not, I was visited by two angels that night on the bridge and the handsome young one changed my tire.

Angels.  People who we encounter in a time of need?  Invisible spirits guiding us to safety?  Souls from our lives who have gone on before us, now coming back to earth to protect us?  Real or imagined?  Dead or alive?

A term we use to explain the unexplainable or simply to describe someone who was there just at the right time.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Halo or Hat? Angels Part I”

  1. Jennifer Herrin Says:

    Have you ever read “Angels in the Water”? It is a dear, dear book for kids about guardian angels. It makes me tear up just thinking about it.


Leave a Reply

