Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fall Snow Fall January 13, 2011

Filed under: Poetry — heartwriter @ 12:06 am
Tags:

Just hours ago my world was white

covered in fresh snow.

Coming out of the movie theatre last night I shouted,

IT’S SNOWING.

As carefree and light as a school girl

my heart beating with the possibility of everything

coming to a halt

duties put aside, agendas on hold

while the sky dumped beauty in my lap.

I stayed up late, watching it fall

as curious as a puppy, practically

wagging my tail in delight.

Alas, I awoke to slush, snow no longer falling from the sky

I wanted to cry as if that

would bring it back

the symbol of all that is well in the world

a mark of quiet on my loud brain

a reason to pause.

For now with it all melted away

I no longer feel justified in just sitting,

looking out the window.

 by J.G. McGlothern

 

3 Responses to “Fall Snow Fall”

  1. Amy Says:

    Except you weren’t just sitting… you were filling your cup!

  2. Sue Says:

    You wrote this as if you were in my house with my kids….they were saying the same things….especially excited to play in the beauty of the snow! I have to give them credit – they went out in the morning – in the rain and gathered as much of it together to build until they were soaked and had to have their coats dried before going to school. What a walk that was….not as much fun as snow but fun never the less.


Leave a Reply

