Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Enough March 24, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 6:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

Meeting my friend for tea yesterday I couldn’t help but notice her joy, radiance, and new lightness to her spirit.

She claims turning 50 and celebrating with family and friends this fall is the cause of this evident shift.  Instead of focusing on the negative, I realized how much I do have in my life and how grateful I am, she confessed.

She expressed where I have been wanting to get to – that place of total gratitude, loving where I am and what I have.  Noticing the abundance not the scarcity, being aware of the gifts and not speaking of the “if only” and “the what if” and the “have not”.

It’s a head thing.  We tell ourselves these messages that radiate feelings – so why not start getting in the habit of creating messages from the heart that speak of gratitude instead of dishonoring all the gifts in my lap.

It sounds simple.  And in some ways it is.  The hard part is getting out of old habits, right?

We all know getting and having don’t necessarily make us happy. Are you with me?  So join me in starting new habits.  Repeating thankfulness, speaking out loud of the good, not giving air time to the “not yet”, the “when” and the “should”.

During this season of Lent it is a perfect time for me to be reminded and aware of what I have in my life.  For it is good. It is beautiful. It is enough.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

 

One Response to “Enough”

  1. Linda Filley Bentler Says:

    Gratitude! It is so simple. I am so blessed. I have a wonderful family, husband and two smart loving children. It is sunny and I have a home, food and friends. We are mostly healthy too. What more could I want?


Leave a Reply

