Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought April 4, 2011

Filed under: mom writer — heartwriter @ 1:57 pm
Tags: , ,

So the saying, Never look a gift horse in the mouth, popped into my head at 5:41 this Monday morning. I have been trying to figure out a way to get more time in writing my book accomplished during the day and not succeeding to the level of my wildest dreams let alone just a simple goal of two hours a week. I am learning that the day’s distractions are winning out. I am aware how much email time, just email, not talking Face Book or Online Chess  can weigh me down, so I wanted to try getting up early before the kids and either write at that time or get email out of the way. So this morning after going to bed relatively early I awoke at 5:40 without an alarm and had two immediate thoughts, simultaneously really: Oh, perfect I can go write and Oh, crap it’s early I can get more sleep.

Snuggled back in the warmth of my bed I thought about that damn gift horse quote, tossed and turned for twenty minutes, got up and did my 10 minute silent meditation, got on email and not only conquered the latest unread messages in my inbox I made moves in my two ongoing online chess games, am now writing this blog and the kids are still asleep so I can focus on my book writing.

I wanted this, I was given it and I wasted twenty minutes of it by cursing the white stallion that woke me up early.  Not THAT stallion loyal readers, hubby is out of town.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought”

  1. Sue Says:

    Jenny –
    You are the gift! Thank you for sharing your wise words.
    xoxo-Sue

    • heartwriter Says:

      You are welcome. Sue you are someone in my life who sets a great example in my life at seeing life’s gifts.
      xoxoxo


Leave a Reply

