Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Heart Slam April 29, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 2:19 pm
Tags: , ,

My son’s kindergarten class gathered at a local coffee shop this week for Room 2’s First Annual Poetry Slam. His teacher blows me away with her creativity, enthusiasm, vision and big, big heart.

You can bet your dollar there weren’t many dry eyes gathered in the coffee shop. What a big deal to get up at age five or six in front of a microphone, introduce yourself and recite a poem, which most created on their own.

One student, didn’t want to get up there at all. She found little comfort in her friends sitting in front of her or her mother by her side. With a big breath she softly spoke the beautiful words she penned about her little brother growing in her mother’s belly and how she loved him before she met him. The teacher said them loudly for us all to hear. Like I said, not many dry eyes in the house. Like a true poet she wasn’t boasting or bragging she was timid as she shared her heart.

When it was my son’s turn at the mike I hollered to the coffee shop owner, who knows me as “the gal who orders French press with room for cream”, That’s my boy. My Simon is the one at the mike. I hollered it like a true parent boasting and bragging not timid at all about sharing the love and joy I was feeling in my heart.

Some speak their heart softly, some with the volume turned up high.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

6 Responses to “Heart Slam”

  1. Sue Says:

    You keep being “loud & proud” of your darlings!
    xoxo-Sue

  2. Jackie Says:

    Thank you for posting this Jennifer! The kids did such an AMAZING job!! I am so proud of them. When I started the poetry unit I was a little worried that the kids wouldn’t be comfortable writing poetry on their own. That there would be a lot of “I don’t know what to write…”. But they continue to amaze me! Kids are capable of more than we give them credit for, that’s for sure! 🙂

    • heartwriter Says:

      You have given them such great space to show off their amazingness. I agree, sometimes I forget to give them more credit…while they just continue to knock our socks off.

  3. Linda Filley Bentler Says:

    So beautiful!

    And Yes, THAT’S MY BOY!

    Way to go Simon. Way to go mama Jenny.

    Way to go kindergarteners. Who better to share from the heart?


Leave a Reply

