Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The War — Resistance Part I June 1, 2011

I just read a book that has already changed my life and I only finished it a few days ago. My life will continue to be changed by it…if I let it.

My friend knows me. He gave me this book because he knew it was what I needed to hear. He knows my dreams to write and he watches me procrastinate about it every day.

You really need to read The War of Art, he told me. Then he bought it for me and had it delivered to my mail box.

I thanked him and told him I was already reading six books at the moment, (yes, I am one of those) but would get to it soon.

That night in bed, I decided to read the back cover, at least get familiar with the book. The War of Art by Steven Pressfield, is about moving away the creative blocks that are in the way of your dreams. By reading the introduction and flipping through the pages, I could see one third of the book if not more was about RESISTANCE. I chuckled at my email to my friend who gave it to me…I’ll get to it soon, just can’t right now…Exactly what I say to myself about the two books and screen play I want to write… I’ll get to them soon, let me just raise the kids first.

A story we have all written ourselves. Putting off our dreams until later.

I had too much other living to do, too many books to read.

I stayed up and read one third of the book that night.

The next morning and every morning since I have started my day with a new phrase…Fuck Resistance. Then I head down to the basement and turn on the computer.

I love getting a good kick in the ass and sometimes that kick in the ass is just one battle you need to fight to win your own war.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

4 Responses to “The War — Resistance Part I”

  1. Angela Says:

    this is exactly what I needed to hear this morning Jenny! I’m procrastinating on my art class homework…and why??? Everything else is getting in the way, but I really want to do it. I’m getting this book! Thanks for the kick in the ass Jenny 🙂

    • heartwriter Says:

      Absolutely…happy to provide the kick. Look it in the eye, and say “Fuck You Resistance and MOVE outta my way”.

  2. Sue Says:

    I think I will have to read this book to get myself out infront of my “wall of resistance” – thanks for the tip! There is so much I truly want to do and I am my own worse enemy when it comes right down to it. Sue


Leave a Reply

