Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Home Alone July 13, 2011

Filed under: Observation — heartwriter @ 4:03 am
Tags: , ,

Home Alone…not just a fun PG rated film starring Macaulay Culkin when he was a cute eight year old boy. Long before the days when his celebrity status held a prominent place in reputable newspapers, like Star and The Inquirer…but it is the place I am finding myself this Tuesday night. Home Alone.

Husband is often out of town, so that was no surprise, but on a last minute plan, both kids are at a sleepover and I am reminded that I haven’t been alone in this house for nine and a half years. You lose your memory after children but that is something that comes back to you, not the memory part, but the part about remembering the last time you were alone, for a whole night.

This summer has been busier than the school year and I am so good with this alone thing. My mom asked if I wanted company, I declined. I know of girlfriends who would be free and spontaneous for a get together. But I am going to relish these 14 hours. It’s not a life time and I’ll be asleep for most of it but it’s a gift I will savor.

Yes, I have done a few chores and the washing machine is churning as we speak, but just knowing that this time is mine, this sacred time is all mine, makes me grateful, smiling and a bit giddy.

So like Culkin’s character, Kevin, I may just eat a ‘lovely cheese pizza just for me’, practice my gangster lines, run around the house yelling…’I’m livin’ alone’ or simply enjoy the moment of not being responsible for anyone but me…the dog can let himself out.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

3 Responses to “Home Alone”

  1. Linda Filley Bentler Says:

    Yippee!

    So good to be on your own. Listen to your own heart and no one else’s.

    What do YOU want to do next….and just take care of yourself.

    Enjoy!

  2. Mary Nicholls Says:

    Jenny, I loved it too, when I had the house to myself. It was a hard part of parenting to me, to always have people around and always have to interact, nicely! Of course, I loved them so much. I really am close to being an intervert. When Julia became an adult, we talked about our different needs when it comes to being around people. We are very different that way. Love you Jenny!


Leave a Reply

