Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Improv July 18, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 11:01 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Last night my niece’s 30th birthday surprise party was thrown at an Improv Comedy Club.  Theatre Sports all in honor of my niece, Julia.

I just recently read Bossy Pants written by Tina Fey, the Queen of Improv, the woman I want to come back as in my next life.  Tina outlines the rules of Improv.

Rule number One, Agree…always say YES.

Not one to be shy about saying YES getting up on stage, fresh from reading the “rules of improv”, I jumped at the opportunity.  Pick me, Pick me, I prayed. They didn’t have a choice, I was up out of my seat answering the call…I Need two volunteers, before the sentence hit the back of the theatre.

I wish I was like that even more in all parts of my life. Pick me, pick me.

After all, all the world’s a stage and there are tons of opportunities for every player.  But being human, saying YES takes courage, risk and involves letting go. 

The gift that comes to you as a result of saying YES, just may surprise you and better yet make you laugh out loud.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

