Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

State of Mind July 26, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 2:28 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Billy Joel sings about a New York state of mind and I headed into this summer season with a summer state of mind: lemonade stands, sand in my toes, ice cream twice a day, staying up late outside, bonding with my children.

We haven’t had that lemonade stand yet and the closest I got to sand in my toes was mud, just last night.  Standing in the pouring down rain at a swim tournament, huddled under a tent, wearing layers and a hat, but I still had on my flip flops.

We here in Seattle are ready to bitch and moan at the drop of a hat over this “summer” we are having. Even I too, “Miss loves the Rain”, have had it. But the moaning won’t get me anywhere. The bitching will just attract more grumpiness, annoyance and frankly, a crappy state of mind.

So I will wear a couple of layers, just in case the sun comes out, but first, I will put on some music. I will dance with my children, even if it’s inside and we are wearing socks. We will still be dancing together.  When you are dancing it doesn’t matter if the sun is out or not.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

4 Responses to “State of Mind”

  1. Sue Says:

    Jenny – you radiate light & love so the sun is always out in your company. Dance away the day and enjoy the cool of the wet grass on your bare feet!

  2. kerri Says:

    Living in Seattle, I have had a VERY hard time getting in the Summer State of Mind. But I saw this blog post (below), and it gave me a little inspiration to get out and enjoy summer with my kids. Thought you might like it too!

    http://blog.photorocket.com/post/8131946234/photo-safari


Leave a Reply

