Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Alarm — Transition Part I July 28, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 9:54 pm
Tags: ,

Beep, Beep, Beep, Beep___ Beep, Beep, Beep, Beep, signals our washing machine when a load is finished.  The beeps are quickly paced and loud.  We can hear it down in the basement when we are upstairs.  It travels through the ceiling up to our ears.

I let it keep beeping until I am ready to put the wash load in the dryer. If the dryer is still drying a load, then I wait. If I’m in the middle of something, I wait. I only silence the beeping when I am ready.

The moment my hubby hears the beeping he runs down and opens the washer door to cease all beeping sounds. I can’t tell you how many times I have gone down to the laundry room to discover a load of stinky clothes sitting in the washer that needs to be rewashed.

I don’t transfer the wet clothes to the dryer until I am ready. I need the signal to remind me.  Hubby  also doesn’t transfer the laundry until he is ready, but he stops the signal.  The beeping drives him nuts, I  ignore it.

Then in a complete role reversal my husband sets his alarm clock at least 45 minutes before he needs to get up, hitting the snooze button every six minutes when its Beep, Beep, Beep, Beep___ Beep, Beep, Beep, Beep goes off. He prefers and really needs to wake up slowly. Me? Tell me once and my feet are on the floor.

We all need our own signals, warning devices, beacons, alarm systems signaling the next thing, sounding us to move on, get up, change the laundry, attend, notice, be aware, go forward.

Some of us ignore the signals needing time to process, others respond immediately.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

