From The Heart, Observation

Corrections

It’s so obvious and I just figured out who she got it from yesterday. The signs were so clear, that I saw right through them.

My daughter and husband have allergies. Lots of nose blowing at our house this summer. Our lovely nine year old daughter doesn’t have the best aim, or her mind is on other things, and needless to say there are lots of used Kleenex tissues on the floor near the bathroom waste basket. The basket is behind the door, she can’t always see, the door gets in the way. We tease her about missing the basket.

Oh, I didn’t know I missed, she will tell us.

I have just been picking up the tissues and tossing them in the basket. The other day I thought I would tell her, since she is not aware of this minor household activity. So I called her into the bathroom to show her the tissues on the floor.

Denial.

Mom, you always say it is me, I am not the only one who blows my nose. Well, her dad is the other one, but he is not home during the day to toss tissues into the waste basket. It’s not a big deal, I just wanted her to be aware that the basket gets missed.

My girl who rarely cries, was in tears. Door slam, she wanted to be alone.

Then out of the clear blue it hit me. She HATES being corrected. Hmmmm, so does her mother. No matter how gentle someone tells me something, I can get defensive.

I knocked on her door. Yes, came her sad response.

Honey, I just figured out how we are alike. I don’t like being corrected. And is that what you felt like I was doing with the bathroom tissues, correcting you?

Yes, came the big smile.

I wish we could control what we pass on to our kids.  What I can’t control is the lessons I learn every day from my children. And yes, I will surrender to that indeed.

by J.G. McGlothern

1 thought on “Corrections”

  1. I hate being corrected too. And my poor daughter has inherited my confusion regarding decision making. I wish I didn’t pass that trait along. Oh well!

Leave a comment