Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Little Hugger September 3, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 4:09 am
Tags: , , , , ,

When our seven year old son has an empty tank, be it hungry for food, or deprived from enough sleep, he asks for a hug. If his feelings have become overwhelming, he holds out his arms and wants to be held.

The other day my kids and I stumbled upon a video on YouTube that has touched my son and helped him through some emotions the past couple of days. The wisdom from the video has grown my heart too, kind of like The Grinch’s heart growing “three sizes that day.”

Todd Jensen, author of On Gratitude, has created a Hugging Meditation video to help us get through the stressful holidays. In it he invites us to embrace someone and think the following: “I may not be here long, but I am here now.” This is just the first part, parts two and three invite us to think that we (the ones hugging) “may not be here long but are here now.” Real simple, just like that. So the kids and I watched this on YouTube and went on with our day.

At one point, an empty tank moment, when I want to scream at him to stop him from yelling, my son says to me, “Let’s do the hug imitation.” Already forgetting it takes me a second to catch his meaning. He was talking about the hugging meditation as seen that morning on YouTube.

I got down on my knees and hugged my little guy. I let him hug me. I thought the words, I said them out loud, letting my heart grow again like The Grinch’s.

We have done this a few times now, all at my son’s request to do the “hug imitation”.  Again, my little lover, the one with a heart 100 times bigger than mine and worn on his sleeve, has taught me how to surrender, to let go, to love, all with his hugs. His hugs that open my heart, remind me to breathe and bring me to the present moment, to all that matters.

(Link to video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvPs1kkhsMY&feature=related)

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Little Hugger”

  1. Sukie Curtis Says:

    Love this, Jenny. I have a (now very grown up) hugger, who still likes a good hug now and then.


Leave a Reply

