Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Easy Does It September 7, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 8:35 pm
Tags: , ,

There is no hurry.

On the first day of elementary school the teachers take it slow. They don’t bombard the kids, at least the younger grades, with too much. They show them around the room, maybe take the hand of the teary eyed ones, talk softly, smile a lot, ease them into their new grade, new class room.

Today on the first day of my kids being back at school I am being gentle with myself. I am tasting the food I eat, sipping my coffee slowly, watching the sky, feeling the coat of my dog, all soft.

There is no hurry.

I walked the dog at an easy pace and later in the shower I shaved my legs twice.

There is no hurry.

The school bell will ring soon and I’ll be picking them up taking them to piano and soccer. We will eat dinner later than I like but we will eat it slowly, together.

There is no hurry.

On this day of big change for many I am practicing being gentle with myself, so I can be gentle later with my children. For there is no hurry. Everything will get done, the transition will be over soon. So in the mean time I am reminding myself to hear the laughter, walk slowly, and to notice the sky, for it is bright, it is lovely and you don’t see any clouds racing by.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Easy Does It”

  1. projectwhitespace Says:

    This is good. You are talking about being present, being present in the moment. This is what I strive to do too. I especially like that you suggested that taking it easy, being gentle with yourself would help you to be gentle with your kids when it was time for them to come home. That is so true. I’m not a mom, but I get the concept. And that in itself is sacrificial–you could have gone out and done a million things on their first day back. But you are easing in–for them, and for you. Nice post.


Leave a Reply

