Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Queen to Risk September 16, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 4:35 am
Tags: , , ,

Kevin Kline, who is even sexier with his grey beard and French accent in the French sub-titled film, Queen to Play, than he is in The Big Chill, had me at “risk”.

I love the game of chess and play it because I am not that good at it.  Yes, you heard me correctly. Not that good. I want to get good at it. So I show up online and play three people in my life, my brother-in-law, my mother and my girlfriend who is new to the game, but good. And through this practice I am getting better, indeed. Chess is all about thinking a few moves ahead of the game. I am more of a move by the seat of my pants gal, so I play because I want to posses this kind of thinking. I want to grasp the knowledge of thinking beyond what is in front of me.

The queen is the most powerful piece in the game, she can move and capture in all directions. It is rare that one can win a game without her on the board.

In this delightful film, Kevin’s character says to the woman wanting to learn how to play chess, “By taking risks you might lose, but if you don’t, you always lose.”

We forget that part in life. We play it safe shielding our queen with pawns and knights fearful to bring her out in the open, playing it safe. In chess, like in life, if we take risks with her, try new angles, sample different moves we just may discover a new way to win and that may have nothing to do with putting your opponent in check-mate.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Queen to Risk”

  1. projectwhitespace Says:

    First: I love that you are taking lessons from this game to develop the skill of thinking ahead in real life. Second: taking risks, getting out there–I’m beginning to see that you value this. I’m with you on that. If we don’t take risks, what will we ever experience and what would we ever learn. Nice post.

    • heartwriter Says:

      First, I love your faithful comments.
      Second, I agree with you….life would be flat, huh? Thanks so much for reading and posting comments.


Leave a Reply

