Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

St. Francis – Peace Part III October 28, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 1:18 pm
Tags: , ,

St. Francis is not just the guy we pray to, to bless our animals. The way he lived his life, a few years back, starting in 1181, is an example of living a peaceful existence.
The little we know about this man, who renounced his family’s wealth and became a traveling preacher is that he had an incredibly deep and inspiring connection to animals and nature.

When I visited his birth place in Assisi, Italy nearly four years ago, I stood in the places it is said he walked and tried to soak up his peacefulness. I thought maybe by standing where he stood some of his peaceful spirit would leak into my being.
HA! Oh, how we want to live peaceful lives and oh how we make it so difficult.

I leave you with the Prayer of St. Francis that inspired me earlier this week to explore peace a bit this week:

Make me a channel of your peace.

Where there is hatred let me bring your
love.

Where there is injury, your pardon, Lord,

And where there’s doubt to faith in you.

 

Make me a channel of your peace.

Where there’s despair in life, let me bring
hope.

Where there is darkness only light,

And where there’s sadness ever joy.

 

Make me a channel of your peace.

It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,

In giving of ourselves that we receive,

And in dying that we’re born to eternal
life.

A lot to chew on, but I’ll start with a small bite, and let go of the outcome and watch and delight in where it takes me.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

