Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Horizon – Darkness Part I December 2, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 6:43 am
Tags: , , , ,

Not ready to put this darkness talk to bed just yet. After penning my thoughts on darkness yesterday, just moments after my post the sun came out and found me standing in awe. Stopped in my tracks, by Mother Nature’s beauty. Then in just a few hours we lost power due to a scary electrical issue in our home. But more on that later, back to the sunshine.

Yesterday, after dropping off my daughter at her piano lesson, my son and I headed to the local high school football field to play catch.

As we hiked, punted, ran, tossed and giggled, the sun, already on its decent, lit up the sky on the horizon. It was like someone took a paint brush to a grey canvas and had a party. The Olympic peaks showed off their white snow vestments and the sun, a big ball of beauty, painted the sky.

If it was summer it would have been expected and likely to have gone unnoticed. With the dark clouds around it and the grey of the day, it stood out in all its glory.

Much more indeed, but two notable lights, unwrapped gifts, that were part of my dark winter day yesterday: the jaw-dropping, stunner of a sunset and the delight in my heart playing catch with my seven year old son, our breath visible in the chill, our smiles radiant in each other’s presence.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Horizon – Darkness Part I”

  1. Linda Filley Bentler Says:

    I’m inspired. I’m going to bring a soccer ball to a park with my son while A is at ballet. Thanks so much Jenny for your gift of writing, Linda


Leave a Reply

