Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Weekend Wisdom December 12, 2011

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 9:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This weekend I grew up a little. Maybe. As long as you don’t count swearing in front of my kids again or staying in my pajamas until 2 Sunday afternoon.

This may be obvious to many, but new to me. In the middle of making walnut shortbread cookies with my daughter it occurred to me why we have a weekend or least how I need to start living my weekends.

To go with the flow, to be with those I love, to breathe slower, to connect. Instead I try to fill it all in, trying to race the clock. I approach Saturday morning with a big breakfast for the family, all together around the table, then I start cracking the whip once the dishes are cleared. I want to cram in education, experiences, house projects. Let’s read ten books, wash the windows, go to the store, weed the garden, save the whales, knit a sweater, play Monopoly, bake a pie, make up a dance routine, build a tree house and learn a foreign language, while we’re at it. Go, go, go.

My husband and two kids already got it. They watch football, snuggle on the couch, laugh hard and just be, while I buzz around them.

But not Sunday. I learned from Saturday. Saturday I got stuff done, but I hungered to be still with my family. Sunday we skipped church to hang out on the couch and read. I skipped yoga so we could make cookies and eat every meal together at the table.

Weekends for me, now that I am so wise, aren’t made to get it all in, but to let go so I can let the love in and really start living.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

4 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: Weekend Wisdom”

  1. Mary Nicholls Says:

    Nice, Jenny!

  2. Sue Says:

    Amen sister! Remember, this time of year Santa has it all covered so you can relax and just be with the ones you love. Thank you for sharing your insights!

    • heartwriter Says:

      Oh, that’s right, I can just sit right back down, it’s all covered. Thanks for reminding me of my own words.
      Thanks for your Amen sister!


Leave a Reply

