Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bear-like January 21, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 11:33 pm
Tags: , , ,

During the past week of Blizzard 2012 here in Seattle, I have had a split personality, half Caroline Ingalls and half bear.

I wasn’t hanging venison, husband Charles caught on a recent hunt or pickling vegetables from our fall harvest, but I was making soup, baking cookies, cooking the ham my hubby brought home from a recent trip to Costco.

With the snow falling outside it felt right to be baking with peanut butter and chocolate, mincing garlic and chopping onions. I was perfectly content as homemaker, the smiling mom hanging wet snow pants and making cocoa to warm the children and their snow blushed cheeks.

Then the bear side of me came out too. Preferring to stay in my pjs and desperately wanting to crawl back into bed until the spring thaw. Moving slowy, but not depressed like the natural state of a bear when they hibernate and not bored being inside and definitely not itching for the next thing, just perfectly content without checking things off the list, functioning happily without an agenda. So not like me. Always motivated into action by the next thing on my list.

Bears hibernate to escape the cold and winter is a time when food resources are scarce.

I wasn’t wanting to escape anything. I just wasn’t motivated to do a lot in my bear-like state. Then soon the pioneer woman in me would start measuring flour and preheating the oven.

It catches us off guard to find ourselves in a different place, reacting in a way out of our norm. But that is something wonderful about this life, there is room for change. It is okay to be stagnant for awhile. For even if all outward appearances illustrate stillness, below the surface there is always so much going on, just waiting to bubble forth. All quiet before the storm. The storm that ushers in surprises, hope and the beauty of this life.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Bear-like”

  1. Linda Filley Bentler Says:

    Aaah yes. Being a bear is good sometimes, especially when it’s snowing. Beautiful writing Jenny!

  2. projectwhitespace Says:

    I wish I had the luxury of being a bear. 🙂 I envy your Caroline Ingalls day (or days). Stay warm.


Leave a Reply

