Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Is This a Test? March 7, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 11:49 pm
Tags: ,

Walking to school this morning my daughter spotted a brown wallet, just lying on the sidewalk. I opened it right then and there. A business card sported the name of a local high school principal, the first thing you see when you open the wallet. I called the number of Seattle Lutheran High School.

I was told that I was part of an Integrity Project and that students had placed wallets all around West Seattle to see who would call in.

Where should I return the wallet? I asked.

Keep it, the school secretary told me.

It has $10 in it.

Keep it, buy yourself a cup of coffee.

Then later in the morning walking down the hall of my children’s school I spied a poster all about Integrity.

When it comes to integrity for me it is all about honoring yourself. Not how it makes you look but how it makes you feel. Shutting out the other voices, going deep within and listening.

I had one of those integrity moments a few weeks ago. It’s easy to call the number in a wallet with $10 in it. Figuring out what you should do when jobs are on the line, children’s voices are at stake and speaking your truth is being called into action is a whole other thing.

So you take a breath and you listen. The answer will guide you.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

