Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Good Friday April 6, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 4:25 pm
Tags: , ,

We walk up two by two

To kiss, kneel, bow, touch

We give reverence

In our own beautiful way

Gestures of love

Gestures of gratitude

Giving thanks

We remember.

 

A ten-foot cross carved from two logs

Sturdy, thick, chiseled with care

I offer my hand, kneel with bowed head

Return to my pew

Watch.

I take in others’ movements of grace

A kiss

Knelt beside

Head bowed

A touch.

 

I see the elderly man move slowly

Feet guided by his cane and wife.

Leaning forward, unsteady

He kisses the smooth wood

As if he were kissing the feet of Jesus.

 

Tears wet my cheeks

I catch my breath

This elderly man

Married to my mother

Loves Jesus even more than he loves his wife

And he would give his life for her.

2007-J.G. McGlothern

 

Hard to believe I wrote this five years ago. My step-dad has been gone from this world for over a year now. We are all carrying our own crosses, looking for light and finding it when we let go. My prayer for you, my wish, my intention…is that during this Easter Season you find a bit of joy. It’s there, down deep in your heart, you just have to be open to finding it.

If you are up for more…check out today’s blog on my website… www.mamaneedsarefill.com, http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com/2012/04/fridays-free-refill-one-scare/.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Good Friday”

  1. Sue Says:

    Oh so beautiful! I am writing this with tears in my eyes – picturing the entire scene. Many blessings to you and your family this Easter holiday. xoxo-Sue


Leave a Reply

