Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Beautiful June 25, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 10:59 pm
Tags: ,

The color of raspberries on my cereal, my daughter’s lips as she wipes milk from them and her voice, her sweet, sweet voice as she asks, Mama can I go with you to run errands?

A yard in the neighborhood  bordered with lavender plants, bursting not only with color, but aroma, this sweet amazing aroma.

A white plate served to me at a restaurant with dark green arugula, bright red beets and crumbled creamy white cheese.

A bouquet of orange sweet peas at Pike Place Market, the orange poppies on our deck, the stranger’s orange blouse.

My friend’s news to me that there is a second robin’s nest now in their yard and the sound of chickadees I hear every morning in ours.

Dialouge in a movie, words on a page, listening to a friend’s epiphany.

Rain drops on the window pane, the way the clouds dance in the sky, a stranger’s smile when you are expecting a frown.

All of this full of life. Full of beauty. Color. Sound. Touch, Taste. Smell. Beautiful life all around me.

There is so much beauty around me it is easy to miss. Yes, that’s what I said. You heard me right. So many gifts these little glimpses of beauty, that I forget and take them all for granted.

Lord, lovely Lord, slow me down so I can feel it, live and be in it, all of this beauty.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

One Response to “Monday’s Random Thought: Beautiful”

  1. Sue Says:

    Thank you Jenny for the reminder of all the beauty around us. I miss it sometimes, too busy watching how fast the kids are growing and changing. Now that they are home from school I need the reminder to slow down and enjoy it all. Summer is a perfect time to practice seeing what truly is important. Thank you! Sue


Leave a Reply

