Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Influence July 9, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart,mom writer — heartwriter @ 4:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

Last week my friend K took my kids to the pool for their swim and dive team practice so I could stay home and write. I take her kids on her work day. A lovely swap.

When she picked them up, her ten year old son, E, slid open the van door and said, Can I read your book when you’re done?

K chimed in, He can’t wait for you to be published.

What’s the name of it?, he wanted to know.

Mama Needs A Refill – Finding Light in the Madness of Motherhood, I told him, quite certain the long working title would make him lose interest. I’m not writing a teenage trilogy filled with action and adventure. My non-fiction book has action and adventure of a different sort indeed, but aimed at adult readership.

Cool. I hope you finish soon.

His words, his enthusiasm, were a shot of caffeine to my soul. His curiosity, interest and support buoyed my spirit. I was ready to pound out a couple of pages for the morning.

The next day, my turn to drive.

I’m writing a book, E told me when he climbed into our car.

What’s the name of it? I asked.

I will tell you when I’m finished. You will be my book reviewer.

More shots of caffeine, love really, to my soul.

We influence each other. We nudge, support, encourage and lift each other over hurdles to the other side. With extending out our hand, our words, our spirit, we are living as we should, deeply from the center touching each other and making a difference.

by J.G. McGlothern

Check out my FB page, Mama Needs A Refill, and my website, www.mamaneedsarefill.com, you need not be a mama. We all need refills!

 

 

Leave a Reply

