Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Heart Skip July 30, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 7:59 pm
Tags: , ,

In the film The Notebook, Ryan Gosling’s character, Noah, makes my heart skip a beat and it has nothing to do with his sexy grin, that he reads Walt Whitman or his six pack abs. (Well, I am a sucker for Walt Whitman.)

He has met the girl he wants to spend his life with and he doesn’t give up. (Spoiler Alert) The movie goes on and there was plenty of reason to give up on the girl. They end up together despite al l the extenuating circumstance and when she suffers from severe dementia in their later years after raising a family together, he still doesn’t give up on her.

There has been circumstance where I have wanted to give up on my husband. Just throw in the towel and catch the next train. During times of high stress in particular, I have thought geez, I want things to be different.

But that’s when it all has to do with me. My expectations, my reality, my dreams, my perspective.

It’s pretty damn cool that I married my own Noah, someone that doesn’t give up on me. From this I am learning to not give up on myself either.

This is an amazing gift my hubby has taught me. For in the hanging in and working through, the not giving up is so worth it. It makes my heart sing and dance and yes skip a beat or two. (And of course there is something incredibly sexy about not giving up.)

by J.G. McGlothern

 

 

4 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: Heart Skip”

  1. Mary Nicholls Says:

    I love it, Jenny! xoxox

  2. I just love that movie!! One of my all time favorites and I always end up bawling my eyes out. Yes my husband reminds me of Noah too. He always says he sees us grow old together. I love your realization that it’s also about you not giving up on yourself. I can really relate to this. Many thanks for sharing! Xx

    • heartwriter Says:

      Thank you for reading! I had seen the movie once before but totally forgot about how moving and powerful the message is! Thanks again for your comments, this is what keeps me writing. Blessings and Cheers!


Leave a Reply

