Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rearview August 7, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 5:11 pm
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday, I needed some clarity. I pulled out one of my many journals and before I filled the blank pages, I thumbed through past entries.

Later, driving home in the dark, the reflection in the rearview mirror took me my surprise. On most days I regularly check my rearview mirror when driving. But of course there are days when driving down the highway I’ll realize I haven’t looked behind me for awhile.

Last night it was the moon. The beautiful reliable moon who showed up in my rearview mirror. For many the sun’s rays streaming through a cloud remind them of God. For me it is the moon. In all of her shapes, shades of glory and surprising appearances she grounds me again. Filling me with a reassurance.

Reading past journal entries did the same for me. I was reminded of where I have been, what I value and what matters most in my world. A look into the past, without dwelling on it, helped me to see in front of me, in the present, more clearly.

Our past has its place and can get us to where we need to be so we can see with all clarity and awareness, what is right in front of us.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

3 Responses to “Rearview”

  1. I the insights you’ve made here!! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

