Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Good Boy August 13, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 9:55 pm
Tags: , ,

When I lived in Japan, I once visited Shibuya train station in Tokyo. The station is known for a stature of a famous local hero at its entrance. No samurai, sensei or prophet. A dog.  A good ‘ole dog. A loyal dog.

The tale goes that the Akita dog named Hachiko walked his owner to the train station each day then greeted him at the end of the day back at the station.  This routine only went on for a year until the death of the owner in 1925. A college professor, the owner died at work and never returned to the train station.

For nine more years Hachiko waited at the station for his owner to return.

Of course this tale has been made into an Americanized movie version, in Hachiko: A Dog Tale, starring Richard Gear.

Our son is an animal lover like no one I have ever met so I thought this would be a perfect film for him. One look at the puppy on screen, and he was hooked.

The way a dog stands by his owner, dutifully shows up and never gives up on human nature amazes me. I often want to give up on the humans in my life. I can learn from Hachiko and from my son who squeezes my hand during the movie and says,This is sad, but so so good mama.

Yep, and as is life. Sad at times indeed, but so so good.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

 

5 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: Good Boy”

  1. projectwhitespace Says:

    Oh! So true–sad but so so good.
    Hi heartwriter. It has been a long time since i stopped by but you are still writing good stuff. 🙂

  2. beton Says:

    Hey, you used to write fantastic, but the last several posts have been kinda boringˇK I miss your super writings. Past several posts are just a little out of track! come on!

    • heartwriter Says:

      Thank you for saying so….I hear you. Hopefully you will like my next one, short but sweet. I also spend my energy on another blog and am writing a book and raising a family, so I agree with you my summer posts have not been as fully from the heart as they can be. I truly appreciate you sharing your point of view…just as inspiring as the ones who point out the good things. Thank you Beton.


Leave a Reply

