Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Keeping it Alive December 24, 2012

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 5:37 am
Tags: , ,

Last Easter our then ten year old daughter looked me straight in the eye and said,Hey, I just figured something out. If you’re the tooth fairy you must be the Easter Bunny and Santa Claus. Are you?

Speechless, the tears running down my cheeks gave her the answer she was seeking.

This Christmas season I wanted to bring more magic into my kids’ lives, as one now knew who filled her stocking, so I introduced them to The Elf on the Shelf and Fredward the elf came into our lives December 1st.

Our eight year old son discovered him first. His delight was crazily contagious as his now eleven year old sister asked me in private, Mom, I know you are responsible for the elf and I really want to help you surprise brother. Can I help you?

Sadness struck my heart again like it did last Easter. More signs of our little girl growing up.

Honey, I want you to be surprised too.

Mom, I think it is so sweet how brother believes and I really want to help make this Christmas special. Please. Can I help you hide the elf some nights?

Big sister greatly wanting to help little brother to hang on to his beliefs well after her own discovery. Priceless.

I can’t think of a better Christmas gift. Nor can I think of a better way to spread the Christmas Spirit. My heart is so full and I am grateful.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

