Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Epiphany January 7, 2013

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 8:43 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Growing up in a household who celebrated Jesus’ birthday on Christmas, my mom always left the manger scene up until after January 6. That is the day, as legend has it, the Magi came to celebrate the birth of Jesus. She would set the three Wise Men out, away from the rest of the manger scene and let us kids move the three figurines a little bit each day, but they couldn’t be at the “scene” until the 6th of January. Epiphany.

I had a hard time with the waiting part. I wanted the Wise Men to be part of the manger scene from the day we put it up in our living room. I thought they seemed lonely over on the piano, away from the others.

As an adult, I take down all Christmas decorations, manger, tree, everything on New Year’s Day. No waiting for me. Still. I am ready to begin fresh.

There is a part of me who is anxious to celebrate and take action, now. The waiting can be a challenge.

I don’t know if I really believe the details of the Wise Men story. But I do believe in the relevant truths, in the message. Believing in something, like the Magi believed in following  that bright star in the North, is part of each of our journey. It is what gets us through the dark spots and guides us to rejoice in the bright spots.

What is your LIGHT, your Epiphany for 2013? What do you believe in so much you are willing to follow without seeing? Where does your faith lie? Not easy questions perhaps for a Monday. But they are the questions that get me out of bed each morning, keep me looking forward and help me to continue to on my path. Whatever that will be.

I am learning about the gift in waiting. I am believing in the magic of this life without having to see it first. I am following a star, I don’t always see, but that I feel, in my heart.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

2 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: Epiphany”

  1. Laura Douglas Says:

    You know how I LOVE quotes. Well one of my favs is, “Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”
    Martin Luther King Jr.


Leave a Reply

